The Biggest Loser; The Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Ali Vincent, this one’s for you!

biggest loser yes
Just this week, a former Biggest Loser success story told the world she has regained almost all the weight she lost on the television show.(almost half of her weight and over 100 pounds). The following was found on Today’s website:

‘Biggest Loser’ winner reveals weight gain, says ‘I feel like a failure’
Apr. 22, 2016 at 3:35 Meghan Holohan
TODAY

“Eight years ago, Ali Vincent became the first female Biggest Loser when she lost 47.86 percent of her body weight, slimming down to 122 pounds. A few days ago, she shared a Facebook post admitting that she gained back much of the weight she lost.

“I swore I would never be there again, be here again. I couldn’t imagine a day again that I would weigh over 200 pounds. I feel ashamed. I feel embarrassed. I feel overwhelmed. I feel like failure,” she writes in a post that has received thousands of likes.

Vincent’s story sounds all too familiar to those who have wrestled with their weight.

“When I struggle I shut down, I feel alone, I push people away, I hide, I sleep all day, I eat, I try to feel satisfied and comforted but do nothing to allow true satisfaction or comfort,” she wrote.

New body, same self?

After winning in 2008, Vincent told Lester Holt on TODAY:

“I am a whole new woman … There are no limits. There are absolutely no limits and I started to dream big again.”

Ali Vincent-biggest-loser. She was the first female to win on the show with an 112-pound weight loss. She recently announced that she regained much of the weight she lost.
In a program such as the “Biggest Loser”, participants receive support from each other and the coaches. People know they’re sharing an experience. But afterward, they’re alone, says Bonci.

They can feel isolated and many turn to food to comfort themselves.

And that relates to another problem with extreme weight loss: when people face problems they often relapse into bad behaviors.

Well…..from Diane Kress:
The Biggest Loser is a thorn in my side. I’ve often had to spend valuable teaching time explaining to my patients that what they are seeing on this “reality” television show is not reality. They become discouraged even though they, themselves, are losing fat, improving their health, look great, feel great, have had medications decreased or eliminated. They want to lose 20#-30#/week like they see on the show!

For those of you who are not familiar with the program, the Biggest Loser is aired over a 12 week period. The premise is that what you are seeing is taking place over 12 weeks. Many contestants begin the program weighing over 400 pounds and have not exercised in years prior to the program. They are assigned a “trainer” who gives them a diet and exercise regimen. The winner is the person who loses the greatest percentage of weight at the end of the series. The trainer of the winning contestant also wins money. The winner: $250,000, the trainer: $100,000.

What do I question?

1. All contestants are obese individuals who are not physically conditioned. The program supposedly has them exercising over 6 hours/day. This is more exercise than an Olympic athlete maintains…and these contestants are 350+ pounds and not conditioned. Some are carrying over 200# of excess weight. But, we are to believe that they are intensely exercising for over 6 hours/day.

2. The contestants are put on a starvation- grade low calorie diet. Please realize that there is a level of calories under which your body will begin to systematically slow body processes down. If you are not taking in enough calories to maintain your heartbeat, respiration, digestion, brain activity, and if you continually consume less than this basal energy requirement, your body will slow your metabolic burn, decrease your energy level and ability to exercise, and slow all your bodily functions in an effort to preserve life. We are to believe that these contestants can maintain starvation levels of calories AND exercise over 6 hours/day.

3. Patients who lose over 100 pounds are usually left with excess skin and a less than toned body. Many people who lose over 100# submit to plastic surgery to removed the excess folds of skin and tighten their body after years of maintaining a much larger body mass. Note the greatest amount of weight lost by a man on the Biggest Loser was over 260# and a woman lost over 180#! All contestants are shown at the end of the series with little to no excess skin, the men have “six packs”, the men and women are nicely toned. We are to believe that this is the result of exercise and a low calorie diet, over a 50% loss of weight….the excess skin disappeared and their body ended up beautifully and miraculously toned. All this in 12 weeks!

4. Even with a gastric bypass….in which a person has their stomach surgically decreased to the size of a golf ball and rewired to malabsorb calories and nutrients, it takes almost a year for most people to lose 100#. Afterward, many gastric bypass patients have excess skin removed after their enormous weight loss. We are to believe that in 12-18 weeks (18 weeks was the longest time frame)….a mere 3-4.5 months…people are losing 50% of their body weight with no sagging, no excess skin…and end the process fully toned, gorgeous, and on the cover of People magazine. Would you believe that a man lost 100# in just 7 weeks and woman in just 9 weeks? I wouldn’t believe it, either.

What do I know?

At the end of every telecast, the following disclaimer is shown; I’ve highlighted in RED some things I want to point out.

“Our contestants were supervised by doctors while participating in the show, and their diet and exercise regimen was tailored to their medical status and their specific needs. Consult with your own doctor before embarking on any diet or exercise program.”

The weight-loss regimen used in the show—severe caloric restriction combined with up to six hours a day of strenuous exercise—involves risks including a weakening of the heart muscle, irregular heartbeat and dangerous reductions in potassium and electrolytes. Contestants are required to sign a release that say ““no warranty, representation or guarantee has been made as to the qualifications or credentials of the medical professionals who examine me or perform any procedures on me in connection with my participation in the series, or their ability to diagnose medical conditions that may affect my fitness to participate in the series.” Contestants, regardless of their weight, are required to certify that they believe they are “in excellent physical, emotional, psychological and mental health.”

Contestants admit that the 20-30# you “see” lost from one week to the next takes place over more than a week…and won’t say how much time actually passed. Some admit that no one loses over 8# in any given week! Ryan C. Benson, the winner of the program’s first season, publicly admitted that “he dropped some of the weight by fasting and dehydrating himself to the point that he was urinating blood.” In 2009, Kai Hibbard (runner-up from the third season) told the New York Times that “she and other contestants would drink as little water as possible in the 24 hours before a weigh-in” and would “work out in as much clothing as possible” when the cameras were off. She further stated that two weeks after the show ended, she had regained about 31 pounds, mostly from staying hydrated. In a June 2010 interview, Hibbard said, “I do still struggle [with an eating disorder]. I do. My husband says I’m still afraid of food… I’m still pretty messed up from the show.” Kai Hibbard has gained back 70 of the 118 pounds she lost on the show, and readily tells how the pressures of the show forced her into a mentality where a cup of coffee was considered a full meal.

So, there you have it. I contend that the program takes place over much longer than 12-18 weeks and involves much more than diet/exercise. I contend that there are procedures performed and not shown to the public (as stated in the release).

I contend that it is a shame that the public is exposed to such a fallacy and is fooled into thinking that this kind of weight loss is a possibility in the “real world.” Why not show real people losing weight and getting healthy in the real world with a real program that really works? But that wouldn’t sell air time, would it? Diane

I am sure that over 60% of Biggest Loser contestants have uncontrolled Metabolism B. A low calorie program will NOT work for them in the long term. They have a hormonal imbalance of the fat gain hormone; insulin. Having excess insulin means a person will experience carb cravings, belly/back fat, infertility issues, mood swings, depression, anxiety, and increases in their glucose, blood pressure, cholesterol, hemoglobin A1C, insulin levels and decreases in Vitamin D.

I sincerely hope that Ali does not feel like a failure. A low calorie diet would never accomplish long term weight loss for her if she has Metabolism B. Weight Watchers will not work for her.

Ali: Please read The Metabolism Miracle and join me and thousands on Miracle-Ville.com for daily support. I’m here for you, sincerely here for you. And I promise that you will look your best, feel your best, have energy and focus, and get healthy. I guarantee it! Come to the truth: Diane Kress’ Metabolism Miracle ! and http://www.Miracle-Ville.com </strong>

metabolism miracle, new book, silver

http://www.amazon.com/The-Metabolism-Miracle-Revised-Edition/dp/0738218901/ref=dp_ob_title_bk
This link is for the Revised Edition of The Metabolism Miracle.

About Diane Kress

Author of The New York Times Bestseller; The Metabolism Miracle, The Metabolism Miracle Cookbook, and The Diabetes Miracle. and The Metabolism Miracle, Revised Edition. Owner, developer, and administrator of The Metabolism Miracle's support site: www.Miracle-Ville.com. Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator, www.themetabolismmiracle.com www.thediabetesmiracle.com www.miracle-ville.com Email: dietquestions@ymail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Biggest Loser; The Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Ali Vincent, this one’s for you!

  1. Gentry says:

    Diane,

    I couldn’t agree more! I have 100 pounds to lose and embarked on a new diet/exercise regimen beginning about 1 week ago. Last night I saw an episode of The Biggest Loser Season 10 on TV. I had never watched the show until last night, although I did know of its existence. In any event, after watching the 2-hour episode last night, in which one contestant lost 16 pounds in one week, I became intensely inspired. Last night I skipped my evening snack of a small bowl of oatmeal and went to be starving. This morning, in a whirling dervish of inspiration from seeing the show, I went on a very long fast-walk — much longer than I normally walk. I pushed myself so hard in my walk, in fact, that I suffered from a chafing between my thighs that actually drew blood. After showering and lying in bed today and feeling the pain between my thighs, I then went to watch some more Biggest Loser episodes on my cable TV On Demand feature. Then it hit me: WAIT A MINUTE! It takes a 3,500 calorie deficit to equal 1-pound of weight loss. I did some math and then realized it is IMPOSSIBLE for someone to lose 16 pounds in one week, which was depicted on the show. I came online, did some Googling, and found your article. Im SO glad I did. I knew something seemed fishy with that show. I now accept that I’ll probably lose about 2 pounds per week, and that in order to lose 100 pounds, that will take about 50 weeks — or a year. That show would have really created some false hopes in me had I kept watching it. Its sad that it exists, now that I think of it. Many people probably get their hopes up because of it, only to have them dashed by reality.

    I hope this message finds you well. And thanks again for your artcile!

    -Gentry, Miami, FL

    • dianekress says:

      Hi,
      It’s a shame that for the purposes of TV viewership, there is such a distorted presentation of weight loss. I’m glad the lightbulb went on because now you realize what it is truly possible. I have worked with hundreds of patients with over 100# to lose. MM is the plan they can stick with, and it works, without hunger or cravings!

    • Diane Kress says:

      Thanks for your reply, Gentry. Today I am posting a follow up on the total ineffectiveness of the Biggest Loser program. I am so happy that this was a lightbulb blog post for you. The Metabolism Miracle WILL change your life forever. Diane

Leave a Reply

