The “skinny” on fat cell size for those with Met A vs. Met B….In this case 1+1 does not equal 2!

Today, I received several e-mails with the same theme centered around the difference between those with Met A and those with Met B. Below are two readers’ questions (names withheld for privacy reasons) and my response. My decision to share these questions and their answers was to better illustrate to everyone the definitive difference between the two types of Metabolism.

 

Question #1:

I’m classic Metabolism B….my fat cells are larger than a type A…. question….how much larger ? 2 times  ?  5  times  ?   20  times  ?

My answer:

People with Met A can have larger sized fat cells than people with Met B!  These overweight  Met A’s  fat cells became large from overconsumption of fat and calories and under-exercising.  They are a product of “excess calories in – inadequate calories out”.   A person with “textbook metabolism” correctly processes what he/she eats….so, if he overeats, he becomes over- fat and if he decreases his intake and increases his activity, he loses fat.  His body fits the calories in/calories out way of dieting. 

 For those with Met B, there is an underlying aberration involving insulin production/release.  This difference in insulin appears to have a genetic backdrop and environmental triggers….in other words, you are born with the propensity to have insulin imbalance and stressors in the environment “turn it on.”

 Insulin is a fat gain hormone.  When Met B’s blood sugar rises for carb intake or liver glycogen release, they respond with  excess insulin release.  This excess insulin opens an excess number of fat cells and enables an excessive amount of glucose to exit the bloodstream and enter the fat cells. The brain perceives this drop in blood sugar and Met B’s begin to crave carbs.  If they resist eating them, their liver will oblige with glycogen release.  Whether they eat carb or their liver releases sugar stores, they will  respond by releasing more insulin….and this cyclical  process over feeds their fat cells….over and above what the cells would be fed if there had been normal insulin release.  Their fat cells are getting larger from larger deposits of sugar from excess insulin.

 Over time, the insulin receptors on Met B’s fat cells change shape becoming  less receptive to insulin ….As a result of increasing insulin resistance, still more insulin is released.  As time passes a Met B’s fat cells become fatter than they should be and insulin receptors become more distorted in shape. This will lead to overweight, prediabetes, and eventually…type 2 diabetes. 

 If a person with Met A overeats calorically….he will release the correct amount of insulin to match his dietary indiscretion.  He may end up with larger fat cells than you (from actual over consumption of carb and calories), but his insulin receptors won’t become misshapen.  He is literally fat from over eating and under exercising….not from metabolic issues.  He will not develop type 2 diabetes if he does not have the genetic predisposition. 

 Question #2 (from a personal trainer): I wouldn’t consider my overweight because I am fairly active due to my profession, but I feel that I have answered yes to a lot of the questions on the survey.  I’ve decided to implement the diet as a precautionary measure, but am wondering what kind of results to expect.  I have a fairly healthy diet, but tend to have almost daily sweet cravings.  My caloric intake varies, but I feel like this program can help me get on track.  My wife has a type A metabolism and can eat whatever she wants and actually has trouble keeping weight hehe.  She’s actually in school right now to become a dietitian and recommended your book to me.  I’m just lucky that I’m an avid runner and follow a consistent exercise program or else I feel like I’d be in the same boat as some of your patients.

I am also considering recommending the book to a lot of my clients.  I have a few clients with stubborn metabolisms and I feel like your book is the perfect solution.  I’ve tracked their food logs and tried the traditional diet plans including lean meats, whole grains, making sure that clients are expending more than they are taking in, etc., but have found that some just aren’t losing the weight they should.

I’m implementing the diet plan for myself today and will be recommending it to a select few clients as well.  Just wanted to let you know.  If you want, I can keep you posted on our progress as a testimonial if all goes well.  I’m hopeful that we’ll see positive change and I’ll finally have a solution for the clients I’ve felt I haven’t been able to help regardless of all the other methods we’ve tried.

My answer:

I see many patients from personal trainers and exercise physiologists that are “doing it all correctly” but not reaping the anticipated benefits of their diet and exercise regimen.  It’s frustrating for the client and for you as you are doing your job by developing and recommending the right program but they are unaware of their underlying metabolic situation. 

 I find that many Met B’s become extreme exercisers…1.5-2 hours hours/day every day because they realize that if they don’t work out to this degree, they will GAIN weight.  They have to over compensate with exercise just to maintain their weight!  I’m sure you’ve worked with these clients.  It’s almost a form of exerciseorexia…..They are not compulsive exercisers……they just realize that if  they don’t work out to this degree, they WILL gain weight. 

 The Metabolism Miracle will control this underlying aberration in insulin and align their blood sugar.  They will be able to get the results they deserve from their diet and workout regimen. 

 Don’t forget to pay special attention to “Fuel it Forward.”  All of your clients will need to Fuel Forward while they are on Step 1 and exercising over 30 minutes in order to get a high impact workout without hitting a wall.  In Step 1, the muscles are purposely kept low on glycogen stores!  Diane

About Diane Kress

Author of The New York Times Bestseller; The Metabolism Miracle, The Metabolism Miracle Cookbook, and The Diabetes Miracle. and The Metabolism Miracle, Revised Edition. Owner, developer, and administrator of The Metabolism Miracle's support site: www.Miracle-Ville.com. Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator, www.themetabolismmiracle.com www.thediabetesmiracle.com www.miracle-ville.com Email: dietquestions@ymail.com
This entry was posted in ADA, AMA, Atkins diet, Diane Kress, Diet, Energy Drink, low carb, low carbohydrate, Met B, Metabolic syndrome, Metabolism B, PCOS, prediabetes, The Metabolism Miracle, type 2 diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

