January 2, 2011……Let’s Get The Party ReStarted!

January 2 has a special place in my heart. On January 2, every year, I begin 10 days to two weeks of Step 1! Why? Every year I take the week between Christmas Eve and New Year’s Day “off” program and enjoy all the traditional, ethnic, carb-laden foods associated in my family with the holidays. I really don’t go overboard as I have diabetes and can’t justify sending my blood sugar to oblivion, but a cookie (or two) here, a perogie (smiling) there does cause the insulin to flow. The reason I can allow for this every year, as well as every year after I get back from vacation, is that I make up my mind….on a specific date….to revert to the 10 day/2 week Step 1 reset. I will follow Step 1 with 10 days/2weeks of Step 2 and then return to Maintenance.

I can predict how I will feel over the next few days:

Day 1 through Day 4…..yucky! I will feel cranky, tired, have carb cravings, slight head-ache, empty-feeling in the pit of my stomach. I know that this is because I am turning the faucet off on insulin AND my liver is releasing its glycogen (stored sugar).

Day 5 on…… wonderful! I will feel as if the cloud has lifted. I will have energy, a feeling of lightness, no carb cravings, satisfied, and so happy that I took the Step to get things back in control.

Remember that the longer you are “off” program, the harder it is to get back. This is not your imagination, it is a physical reality. The more excess insulin you release, the more peaks and valleys in your blood sugar, the more cravings, the more “cheating”, the fatter you become (on your body and in your blood). You will begin to feel depressed, fatigued, irritable, short -fused, unable to focus, unable to concentrate, decreased libido, and sleep will become disturbed. Your brain will be less and less able to redirect you to health as it is being improperly fueled. Again, this is not your imagination, it is a fact. Why should you start the New Year feeling so darn old and tired?

And so……Do it! There is no day like….tomorrow. Smiling here. You can’t begin Step 1 in the middle of the day and I am writing this blog at 1:00PM. Go to the grocery store, get the foods you need, and begin Step 1 in the morning…tomorrow morning! You will be thrilled that you did; but it will take until Thursday for you to like me again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Diane

About Diane Kress

Author of The New York Times Bestseller; The Metabolism Miracle, The Metabolism Miracle Cookbook, and The Diabetes Miracle. and The Metabolism Miracle, Revised Edition. Owner, developer, and administrator of The Metabolism Miracle's support site: www.Miracle-Ville.com. Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator, www.themetabolismmiracle.com www.thediabetesmiracle.com www.miracle-ville.com Email: dietquestions@ymail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 2, 2011……Let’s Get The Party ReStarted!

  1. Rose Allocca says:

    Great idea! I’m printing this out for John to read and heed!

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

