Dear Dr. Oz

I hadn’t intended to blog today. I am in the middle of many projects and am working from my home office. This morning I heard Dr. Oz’s voice coming from a nearby television. I “tuned in” when he stated that 3 young women (they will be known as “The Healthy Housewives from Oz”) would be working with him to lose 2 dress sizes by the holidays. He literally put them in the spotlight, posted their weight, clothes size, BMI, waist size, and one of the women’s blood pressure. He stated that they all had low Vitamin D levels. They told him that they felt powerless around carbohydrate. He read one of their food diaries aloud and it included potatoes, cornbread, rice, corn, gravy, dessert, sweet drinks. Instead of focusing on the fact that EVERY item mentioned on the food log was carbohydrate, he focused on the total number of calories these 3 women consumed (together) in one day. I guess that was for shock value. He told them that they craved carb because the food they chose didn’t supply enough nutrition and their brain made them hungry in an effort for them to supply more vitamins/minerals?!?!?!
Enough. I can’t take it anymore. The one fact Dr. Oz failed to mention is that each of these friends has uncontrolled metabolic syndrome (or Metabolism B). They have all gained a tremendous amount of weight, have midline fat, crave carbs, and have Vitamin D deficiency. I guarantee that their fasting lab work would objectively show Met B in their glucose, lipid panel, hemoglobin A1C, fasting insulin level, Vitamin D, perhaps TSH. They would all suffer from most of the following subclinical symptoms of Met B: fatigue, carb cravings, midline fat, mild depression, irritability, afternoon energy slump, night driving haze, light sensitivity, easy weight gain, difficult weight loss, low libido, occasional dizziness, feeling of facial flushing when they drink alcohol. They would also have a family history of type 2 diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol, high triglycerides, ADD/ADHD, osteoporosis, estrogen based breast cancer, PCOS, etc.

What frightens me the most? The type of diet Dr. Oz is going to promote for these women will further the progression of their Met B.
Unfortunately, having an MD after your name is perceived as having a wealth of information on all topics related to the human body. (Remember that MD means doctor of medicine). There is almost no focus on nutrition in medical school. Although MD’s can prescribe medication to “treat” your medical condition, they are NOT the right people to see regarding diet and nutrition.

Dr. Oz is no exception. He deals with many topics on his program using his MD experience and knowledge. When he crosses the line to deliver diet information, he can be making a mistake with dire consequences.
In medical school, the same theory on weight reduction that has been taught forever: Weight is a product of calories in – calories out. If you want to lose weight, eat fewer calories and move more. This would make sense if everyone’s metabolism was working properly. Guess what? Over 50% of overweight people have metabolisms that are not ‘textbook’ and don’t abide by the “calories in/calories out” rule.

Dr. Oz appears to have textbook metabolism. He has an easy time maintaining his slim, trim physique. If he gains 5 pounds, he can cut down on portion size and do a little more cardio and “poof” the pounds are gone. People with textbook metabolism cannot understand why so many people can’t get it together with weight loss. “Just zip your lip and move your butt”….r-i-g-h-t.
I have Metabolism B. I am a registered dietitian, certified diabetes educator with close to 30 years of experience specializing in weight reduction. I’m here to tell you that a 1200-1400 calorie, low fat, low cholesterol diet (recommended by the ADA) with exercise 5x/week caused my health woes. In fact, as the years progressed, I gained weight around the middle, developed hypertension, hyperlipidemia, and eventually type 2 diabetes all the while following the plan to a “T”. What I didn’t have the benefit of knowing is that there are two very different metabolic types and I was following a diet plan engineered for textbook metabolism. In my late 30’s, I took two medications for diabetes, one for cholesterol, one for hypertension, and was 30 pounds heavier….all the while on the perfect diet. I should also mention that I felt terrible; no energy, depressed, carb cravings, etc.
Fast forward to “years later” (smiling…..as I try to disguise my age)….I take no medication, am 30# lighter and maintain the loss, and I feel terrific. Do I count calories? NO. Do I eat to match my Metabolism B? YES.
I have personally taught over 6000 people this plan that became The Metabolism Miracle last April. It is now a New York Times Bestseller and is a top seller around the world.

Dr. Oz needs to read the book. He needs to see the website: http://www.themetabolismmiracle.com. He needs to have me on his program to discuss this very real issue. And he needs to apologize to the three women who were on his program today and send them in the right direction. He will help them reach and maintain a healthy weight, improve their 24/7 quality of life, and save them from a future of medications and chronic illness. Now, that’s good medicine!

About Diane Kress

Author of The New York Times Bestseller; The Metabolism Miracle, The Metabolism Miracle Cookbook, and The Diabetes Miracle. and The Metabolism Miracle, Revised Edition. Owner, developer, and administrator of The Metabolism Miracle's support site: www.Miracle-Ville.com. Registered Dietitian, Certified Diabetes Educator, www.themetabolismmiracle.com www.thediabetesmiracle.com www.miracle-ville.com Email: dietquestions@ymail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Dr. Oz

  1. zee says:

    Good day
    I am from South Africa and have purchased your book ,Metabolism Miracle ,I read it and its brilliant but I am struggling
    to stay on the program I am obsessed with food I am 172 cm tall and 85 kgs after my third and final baby last year .please advise what some other met b candidates did to stay focused on program please .

    • dianekress says:

      I’d advise you to join Facebook. There is a great supportive group on there called: Metabolism Miracle New Group. Make sure you are eating plenty of neutral foods. You are supposed to be liberal with neutral food intake on Step 1 and allow no hunger.

  2. Amanda says:

    I am planning to start the metabolism miracle next week, but im struggling to find an answer to wheter i can still drink fat free milk in my coffe in step one? Please help.

    • dianekress says:

      Hi Amanda,
      1/3 cup of milk has 4 grams of net carb and will count as your 5 gram counter if you put it in coffee. Cream will not count as a 5 gram item as it has less carb than milk.

Leave a Reply

